Transit Visa Thailand changes

There has been a recent change in Thai Transit Visa arrangements for certain passport holders. All the passengers holding Pakistani, Nepalese, Bangladeshi or Sri Lankan passport travelling via Thailand with transit over 12 hours in Bangkok are now required to get transit visa prior to travel. They may denied from boarding if they don’t get visa prior to travel. As per Thai airways advice, the passengers with their tickets issued prior to 13 March 2017 can still travel without getting transit visa.
However, the layover in Bangkok is less than 12 hours, there is no requirement of prior transit visa for these passport holders. They must have a minimum of 6 months passport validity

Tourist/Transit Visa Exemption

Australian citizens and passport holder from 50 designated countries may travel to or via Thailand without requiring a visa for tourism purpose. They will be allowed a maximum stay of 30 days if travelling via flight and holding a confirmed ticket to next destination. If entering via land from neighbouring countries, they will be permitted to stay for 15 days on each visit. For longer stays, purposes other than tourism, or for other passport holders a visa is required to travel to Thailand.